Clerk of Court

steveowens2Steve H. Owens took the Oath of Office as Clerk of Superior Court for Rutherford County on December 1, 2014.  Steve had over 20 years of extensive management experience in the private sector prior to working for the State of North Carolina.  He began working with the North Carolina Judicial System in May of 1998 in the Clerk of Court Office and then worked with the District Attorney’s office until being elected as the Clerk of Superior Court.  Steve attends church with his family at Cornerstone Fellowship Church.  He serves on the Finance Committee at Cornerstone.  Steve resides with his wife, Gina, in Rutherfordton.

The Clerk of Court is responsible for all administrative, clerical and record-keeping functions of the District and Superior Court. The Clerk of Superior Court and all Assistant and Deputy Clerks of Superior Court are not allowed to practice law or give legal advice.  Therefore, you should not ask the Clerk or the Clerk’s staff to fill out any forms or to advise you on the completion of forms or any legal issue.  Many forms and online services are available at including court calendars and payment of traffic ticket fines.   You should consult an attorney or any legal aid service for any legal advice.   Pisgah Legal Services does provide services to Rutherford County Citizens on limited matters and they can be reached at 1-800-489-6144 or 828-247-0297.

Links of Interest:
North Carolina Court System
Court Calendar Search
Pay Tickets


 Superior Court Judge    
Office Phone:

J. Thomas Davis, 
Superior Court Judge

Susan Shehan, 
Superior Court Judicial Assistant



District Court Judges      
Office Phone:

Robert K. Martelle , 
Chief District Court Judge

Ellen Shelley

Michelle McEntire
Corey MacKinnon

Gail Hamby, 
District Court Judicial Assistant



Official Court Reporter Office Phone: Fax:
Sonia Yarboro 828-288-6177 828-288-6117


District Attorney Office Phone: Fax:
Ted Bell 828-288-6110 828-288-6111


Guardian ad Litem Office Phone  

Debra Jacobs , 
Program Supervisor



Juror Answering Machine - After Hours Office Number: 828-288-6105


Magistrates - Rutherfordton   Office Phone: 828-288-6119
Brian Smith Rick Gilbert Rhonda Moore
Denise Gardner Kenny Kempster Rhonda Alexander
Magistrate Hours: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm Courthouse
  4:00 pm - 8:30 am Rutherford County Jail


Effective 12/1/2014
Steve H. Owens
Clerk of Superior Court
Location address:
229 N Main St
Suite 203
Rutherfordton, NC 28139
Office Phone:
Hours: 8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Fax: (828) 288-6101
Jury Line: 828-288-6105
Office Directory and Information